• Image of autauga county court house before a plaque which reads, 'A county older than the state. Autauga county created in 1818 by act of Alabama Territorial Legislature. Atauga Indians lived on creek from which county takes its name.' More text is below this but it fades to black.
  • Image of an Autauga County sheriff hummer with the words 'Special Operations' written across the top of it.
  • Image of a side view of the Autauga County Courthouse.
  • Image of the Sherrif and a deput standing in front of a squad car.
Autauga County, Alabama

Welcome to Autauga County! Located in Central Alabama, Autauga County is one of the fastest growing counties in the state. The Autauga County Sheriff’s Office is the primary law enforcement agency for the unincorporated area of Autauga County, including the Towns of Autaugaville and Billingsley along with other populated communities: Pine Level, Marbury, Booth, White City, Jones, Evergreen, Kingston, Pentecost, Mulberry and Independence. Law Enforcement and answering 911 calls is a huge part of what deputies in Autauga County are tasked with, however there are many other duties. In addition to answering about 8,800 calls for service annually, Deputy Sheriffs are also responsible for keeping the courts safe, handling mental orders and prisoner transports, serving all civil process for the court system and many other details which allow the county to function safely and smoothly.

Autauga County was created by an Act of the Alabama Territorial Legislature on November 21, 1818; almost one year before Alabama became a state. The word “Autauga” comes from the Autauga (aka, Tanwasa) Indian village Atagi (meaning “pure water”), located on the Alabama River at the mouth of Autauga Creek.

Autauga County covers an area of 604 square miles, of which 594 square miles of land and 10 square miles of water. The Alabama River composes the southern border of the county. Autauga County is bounded to the north by Chilton County, east by Elmore County and Montgomery County, south by Lowndes County, and west by Dallas County. Even though the Census estimates the 2015 population of Autauga County at 55,347, Autauga County is a majority rural county, with 85% of the land used for timber and farming.

Please use this site to be kept informed about the Autauga County Sheriff’s Office, its services, and operations that may be helpful to you.

Sheriff's Quote:



Mission Statement
We, the professional men and women of the Autauga County Sheriff’s Office, are committed to defend the Constitution of the United States and the State of Alabama. As law enforcement officers, we declare our fundamental duties to serve the community; to safeguard lives and property; and to protect the innocent, weak, and the peaceful from evil while we respect the constitutional rights of all to liberty, quality, and justice. We will fairly and diligently enforce all laws bringing to justice those who violate them. With adequate staffing, continued public relations and partnerships with surrounding law enforcement agencies, we will improve the quality of life for all citizens of Autauga County, by reducing crime and the fear of crime.

Most Recent News
Remains Found In Autauga County Identified
Skeleton Remains Found in Autauga County
Internet Crimes Against Children Arrest Made In A
Arrest Made on Burglary of Gas Stations in Autaug

Inmate - Last Booking
01/27/2022 - 11:47 am